Personal Philanthropy

Ruth & Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards

For 40 years, the Ruth & Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards have recognized artistic excellence in Canadian children’s literature. 

The Ruth Schwartz Children’s Book Awards were established in 1976 by Sylvia Schwartz to honour the memory of her sister, Ruth, a prominent bookseller in Toronto. The first award was given to Mordecai Richler for Jacob Two-Two Meets the Hooded Fang. In 2004, their family renamed the awards to honour both sisters.

Two awards are presented annually, one for picture books and the other for young adult/middle readers. The winners are nominated by a three person awards committee comprised of a bookseller, a librarian and a children’s book reviewer. The winners are selected by juries of young readers from an Ontario public school. 

The administration of these awards is shared by the Ontario Arts Foundation, the Ontario Arts Council (which manages the jury process), and the Ruth Schwartz Foundation (which funds the awards). 


Prize: $6,000 each for Picture Book and Young Adult / Middle Reader


2017 Recipients

Children's picture book winner
The Night Gardener
By The Fan Brothers (Toronto Ont.)
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers


Adult Middle Reader winner
By Wesley King (Musquodoboit Harbour, N.S.)
Paula Wiseman Books


Pictured: Members of the 2017 Schwartz Awards student juries from Frontenac Public School with Carolyn Gloude, Ontario Arts Council - Conseil des arts de l'Ontario, Michael Solway, Herb Solway, Wesley King , author of Young Adult Middle Reader book OCDaniel, Alan Walker, Ontario Arts Foundation, Carol Solway, President of the Ruth Schwartz Foundation, Shelita Walker, Principal Frontenac Public School, John Wilkinson, OAF Board Member, Minister Eleanor McMahon, and Amy Collard, board trustee


Past Recipients


News Releases 
The Fan Brothers and Wesley King honoured with the 2017 Ruth & Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards  May 19, 2017

Shortlist for the 2017 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards announced  April 12, 2017

BLOG: Legislation changes affecting charitable organizations.... Read more »