OAF News

Composer Jordan Pal is awarded the Kathleen McMorrow Music Award

Toronto, November 20, 2019 - Jordan Pal is the recipient of the $7,000 Kathleen McMorrow Music Award. The award recognizes the composition and presentation of contemporary classical music by Ontario composers.  This award is in support of Pal's commission Upwell to be presented by the Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony in April 2020

About Jordan Pal
Jordan Pal is an award-winning composer and a leading voice of his generation in the Canadian concert music scene. He was the Toronto Symphony Orchestra’s RBC Affiliate Composer from 2015-2018 and was the National Youth Orchestra of Canada’s 2014-2015 RBC Composer-in-Residence. According to CBC, Pal’s music is “some of the most beautiful (they) have heard in recent years…shimmering and warm, quivering with life and intelligence.”

Pal has been commissioned and performed by many of Canada’s finest orchestras and ensembles, including the St. Lawrence String Quartet, Gryphon Trio, Jonathan Crow with Toronto Summer Music, Eckhardt-Gramatte Competition, Montreal Symphony, Vancouver Symphony, National Arts Centre Orchestra, Toronto Symphony, Hannaford Street Silver Band, Windsor Symphony, Toronto Symphony Youth Orchestra, Orchestre Symphonique de Quebec, Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, Regina Symphony, National Academy Orchestra, National Youth Orchestra of Canada, Symphony Nova Scotia, Thunder Bay Symphony, Victoria Symphony, London Symphonia, Brantford Symphony, Scarborough Philharmonic, the Mississauga Symphony, and more.

Jordan Pal is a two-time Juno-nominee and holds a Doctorate degree in composition from the University of Toronto, which he received under the mentorship of Gary Kulesha.

About the Award
The Kathleen McMorrow Music Award was established in 2015. Kathleen McMorrow headed the Music Library at the University of Toronto, Faculty of Music from 1974 to 2013. She established the award to recognize and encourage the composition and presentation of Canadian contemporary classical music.

The Ontario Arts Foundation manages the endowment that funds the award. The Ontario Arts Council is responsible for the selection process. The award recipient is selected from the applicants to one of the two annual Ontario Arts Council Music Creation Projects program deadlines.

Jurors for the 2019 award were composer / singer / dancer / educator Bageshree Vaze (Toronto), composer / educator John Burke (Marmora), performer / improvisor / creator Alex Bilodeau (Ottawa), creator Ayo Leilani (Caledon Village), and musician / cultural advocate Allen Magama (Waterloo).

Previous award winners include Chan Ka Nin (2018) and Frank Horvat (2017).


 For more information, please contact:

Alan Walker
Executive Director, Ontario Arts Foundation
Tel: (416) 969-7413

 Established in 1991, the Ontario Arts Foundation (OAF) is passionately committed to building long-term support for the arts in Ontario. In 2018-2019, the OAF paid over $4.35 million in endowment income and $315,000 in awards and scholarships.

For more than 50 years, the Ontario Arts Council (OAC) has played a vital role in promoting and assisting the development of the arts for the enjoyment and benefit of Ontarians. In 2018-2019 the Ontario Arts Council invested $61.1 million in 228 communities across Ontario through 2,252 grants to individual artists and 1,424 grants to organizations. 

 Ce document existe ègalement en français.


BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »