OAF News

Ontario Arts Council Foundation Announces Winners of the 2003 Lieutenant Governorís Awards for the Arts (The Jackman-Bickell Awards)

Toronto, November 28, 2003 - The ninth annual Lieutenant Governor's Awards for the Arts (The Jackman-Bickell Awards) were awarded this evening to 17 arts organizations from throughout Ontario in a special ceremony held at the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto.

These esteemed Awards, which are Canada's largest monetary prizes for arts organizations, recognize Ontario-based arts organizations that have maintained a high level of artistic excellence while demonstrating exceptional community and private sector support.

The $300,000 awards programme is the only one of its kind in Canada.  Since its creation by The Honourable Henry N.R. Jackman in 1995 when he was Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, the programme has awarded more than $2.5 million in 162 prizes to 84 different arts organizations throughout the province.

The 17 winning arts organizations recognized today by The Honourable James K. Bartleman, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario; The Honourable Henry N.R. Jackman, former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario; and Victoria Jackman, Executive Director of the Henry N.R. Jackman Foundation, are based in Drayton, Kitchener-Waterloo, London, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ottawa, Parry Sound, Stirling, Stratford, Toronto, and Windsor, OntarioThis year the Awards are disbursed as follows: one prize of $50,000; six prizes of $25,000; and 10 prizes of $10,000.

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Choir is the recipient of the top prize of $50,000. This is the first time an orchestra has been recognized with the $50,000 Award.   It marks the fourth time that Tafelmusik has received a Lieutenant Governor's Award for the Arts, having previously won the $25,000 prize in 2002, 1998 and 1995.

ìAlthough their artistic disciplines are very different, the recipients all exemplify the vision and dedication that inspire exceptional community and private sector support,î said The Honourable James K. Bartleman, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. ìI congratulate them on their creativity, ingenuity and hard work! These winners contribute to the enormous wealth of artistic experience that enriches the thriving cultural scene in Ontario.î

ìThe arts are fundamental to our quality of life, and we are privileged to live in a province with such a thriving and diverse cultural sector,î Victoria Jackman,Executive Director, The Henry N.R. Jackman Foundation, stated.  ìIn the face of a struggling economy, the decline in tourism, and fierce competition for philanthropic dollars, tonight's winners demonstrate the strength and resilience of the Ontario arts community,î she elaborated. ìWe applaud their vision, creativity and entrepreneurial spirit.î

The recipients of the 2003 Lieutenant Governor's Awards for the Arts are:

Arts Organization:

Based in Ontario:

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra & Chamber Choir Toronto $50,000


George R. Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art Toronto $25,000
Orchestra London London $25,000
Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery at Harbourfront Centre Toronto $25,000
Shaw Festival Theatre Foundation, Canada Niagara-on-the-Lake $25,000
Soulpepper Theatre Company Toronto $25,000
Stratford Festival of Canada Stratford $25,000
CanStage Toronto $10,000
Drayton Entertainment

Drayton, Grand Bend, Penetanguishene, St. Jacobs

Festival of the Sound Parry Sound $10,000
The Hannaford Street Silver Band Toronto $10,000
Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony


Ottawa Bluesfest Ottawa $10,000
Ottawa Chamber Music Society Ottawa $10,000
Smile Theatre Toronto $10,000
The Stirling Theatre Festival Stirling $10,000
Windsor Symphony Orchestra Windsor $10,000

Henry N.R. Jackman established The Lieutenant Governor's Awards for the Arts in 1995 through a $1 million gift to the Ontario Arts Council Foundation (OACF). In 1996, the awards were increased to $300,000 thanks to two annual commitments: an additional $75,000 from The Henry N. R. Jackman Foundation and $150,000 from the J.P. Bickell Foundation.

This year, the winners were chosen by a distinguished panel consisting of Victoria Jackman, Executive Director of The Henry N. R. Jackman Foundation; David  Windeyer, Secretary, Management Committee, J.P. Bickell Foundation; Julia Foster, Chair, Ontario Arts Council; and Jim Pitblado.

The Ontario Arts Council Foundation manages the endowment that funds the Lieutenant Governor's Awards for the Arts, and administers the selection process.  Established in 1991 as a public charitable foundation, the OACF manages funds given by individuals to support the arts, and administers the Ontario Government's $50,000,000 Arts Endowment Fund Program.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact:

Janet Stubbs                                                Karen Lynch
Ontario Arts Council Foundation              Media Relations        
416-969-7413                                              416-461-5772  
jstubbs@arts.on.ca                                    klynch@interlog.com


BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »