Personal Philanthropy

The Orford String Quartet Fund

One of Canada’s most illustrious chamber ensembles, the critically acclaimed Orford String Quartet, was internationally recognized for its performances of chamber music for over 25 years. On the occasion of its final performance in 1991 at the Sharon Festival, funds were raised and and endowment was established with the Ontario Arts Foundation.

From 1997 to 2012 in recognition of the Orford String Quartet’s influence on the development of string chamber music in Canada, the fund awarded scholarships to string chamber musicians attending university.

Beginning in 2014, the fund supports a biennial award recognizing Canadian string chamber musicians who are in the early stages of their professional career.


Prize: $3,000

Current Award Recipient
2018  Hua-Chu Huang 

Hua-Chu Huang, 2018 recipient of the Orford String Quartet Award

Previous Award Recipients
2016  Shane Kim
2014  Ilana Waniuk

Previous Scholarship Recipients
2012  Emily Kruspe
2011  Melissa Wilmot
2010  Jamie Kruspe
2008  Sharon Lee
2006  David Eggert
2004  Emmanuel Vukovich
2002  Eugene Nakamura
1999  Stephanie Meyer
1997  Rachel Mercer


News Releases

Hua-Chu Huang wins the 2018 Orford String Quartet Award  December 20, 2018
Shane Kim wins the 2016 Orford String Quartet Award  November 23, 2016
2014 Recipient of the Orford String Quartet Award Announced 
  November 122014

BLOG: Light at the end of the tunnel... Read more »